Past performance is no guarantee

Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy

Like the stock sites and commercials always say,

Past performance is no guarantee of future results.

That’s what I keep telling myself, anyway. I missed church today, again, and stood up one of my Top Ten friends for the service for no better reason than that I just didn’t feel capable of making friends. I didn’t feel worthy, if you will. And yeah, that’s a lame excuse that will sound even lamer when I try to explain it to the friend who was to meet me there.

I didn’t feel confident. Don’t have that swagger, that energy that comes with believing in myself. Part of that is no doubt that I’ve had a few relationships do the #fail. When you have a #fail, you half expect another. But these relationships depend on human behavior, like stock value, and for that reason I have hope. “Past performance is no guarantee” works for us as well as against us.

Turns out swagger isn’t everything, either, though I wish I had it. Consider what shy good-guy Mr. Darcy had to say about genteel scoundrel Mr. Wickham in Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice:

Mr. Wickham is blessed with such happy manners, as may ensure his making friends. Whether he is capable of retaining them is less certain.

So I guess I’d rather be a loyal, dependable friend who is tough to get to know than… well, the other kind. Though I better start showing up when I agree to do things with people.

~ by Ron Graham on September 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
