Staunch

Reliable

If you TALK staunch, WALK staunch.

Per thesaurus.com: staunch is an adjective that means “dependable” or “reliable.”

And so let me say it. If you’re my friend, you’re staunch. You’re reliable. You’re dependable. If you say you’ll do something, or you’ll be somewhere, you will. Though the legions of Hell may bar the way.

Anything else is a fail.

So just you make sure, if you agree to meet me for a drink, you SHOW UP. If you say you’re going to invite me somewhere, you DO IT. That’s the simplest stuff in the world for a friend to do. Let me down there, and there’s not a chance in Hell that I’ll trust you with something more complex.

[Sorry to come off angry. I simply see… ummm… “non-staunch” people a bit too often…]

~ by Ron Graham on November 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “Staunch”

  1. I don’t think you have to be staunch or a friend, just a reasonable human being to show up when you make a commitment to show up! If you don’t want to do something just be decent human being and don’t make the commitment – say “no thank you”.

  2. And perhaps you might want to add a qualifier about staunch in a positive way. I know people who are highly dependable in that I can depend on them to insult me, to be late, to only think about themselves. I don’t continue relationships with them, even though they are consistent and dependable in a weird sort of way…

Leave a Reply

 
