I used to be organized…

One of these days...

One of these days...

There was a day when I was well-organized. I kept a day-planner, and I knew where I was supposed to be every day, and when. I would check that planner at the beginning of the day, and rank the things I had to do by importance, so I would do the most important things early.

Then I fell out of the habit, over a matter of years.

And when you fall out of the habit, of course you don’t do things in the order of real priority. But in terms of relationships, that’s not the worst thing. The worst thing is that you start acting in ways that show disrespect toward people you otherwise care about.

What do your friends need most from you?

  • That you show up.
  • That you’re close to on time.
  • That you know what’s going on.
  • That you listen without being distracted.
  • That you keep promises and commitments you make.

The fact is that if you’re organized, and you can be with a simple planner, and a few minutes a day spent planning. This past week, I recommitted myself to both. I’ll be watching to see if that affects my relationships…

Funny. What they ask is much the same as what your customers ask. That’s why I’ll be doing a companion post like this in my business blog.

~ by Ron Graham on February 8, 2011.

2 Responses to “I used to be organized…”

  1. I for one, appreciate you being available to me this past weekend. My friend’s passing away 2 weeks ago has deeply affected me and while I did not need to talk about that, I did need to be with someone and just talk…about anything…and we did. Oh yeah, breakfast was good too…thanks!

  2. I used to be a very organised, tidy, orderly person, and somehow I’ve dropped all that and grown accustomed to clutter, rushing and “winging it”. Having trouble giving myself the kick-up-the-butt that I need to get back in gear, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

 
